polkadotmummy

What a night!

In Anxious, Sleep, The Beanie on March 3, 2009 at 10:32 am

Good morning to the ones who are having a nice one!  Mine is ok, although I had an awful sleepless night just watching The Beanie gasp for air every 5 minutes.

The Beanie was diagnosed with Asthma at 4 years old, and been on inhalers since then. But what we just heard (and I warned doctors for months) is that now he has developed sleep apnea, which makes him stop breathing for a few seconds in his sleep and suddenly gasp for air. In rare cases, it can be fatal.

It is pretty scary to witness, I can count up to 20 sometimes until he starts again, and to be quite honest, being my anxious self I don’t normally wait and count the seconds, I just give him a little shake on his chest and he starts breathing again. This has made us scared (Me *and* hubby) and obviously VERY sleep deprived (that is in MY case, as hubby normally is too busy snoring to notice).

Sometimes, when I need a good night’s sleep, the answer is putting him in our bed, so I don’t have to run across the corridor in the middle of the night whenever the baby monitor is silent!

Amazingly, The Beanie does not seem to be too fazed about the side effects and the sleep disruption at the moment. He has no problem concentrating, is doing brilliantly at school and is a calm, sweet child. But I do wonder about it in the long run.

Meanwhile, I am just anxiously waiting for the letter on the post telling me when I get to see a Paediatrician to find out more about it.

Leave a comment